Props to SI.

Taking some time out from Redcafe and Sky Sports News, the HOI3 development forums and the 2D match engine replays of Cristiano Ronaldo playing as a striker to browse these forums, I have to say Well Done to SI, boy do you guys deserve some praise.

I have been playing your games for over ten years and it is astonishing to think how some games just slot into your unconscious as you grow up with them. I remember coming home from football practice or a match for my local pub team as a teenager on a saturday and heading to my mates house for some Five Live radio commentry and a half season on CM97/98 before dinner and a bath and some tired and none too interested hooliganism outside the local off-license before MOTD. I remember how the new Adidas football, Predator football boots, Fingersave Goalkeeper gloves and the new CM was as much a part of World Cup '98 as pretending to be Ronaldo down the 'rec' football pitch.

Now I play football a lot less than I used to although it is still as massive a part of my life as ever. My gaming tastes have refined and I haven't played Fifa or Tekken in about a decade. The only game I play that is not grand strategy or epic RTS is PES against the girlfriend on her Xbox (one defeat in three years due to mass intoxication of the players). I have played Eve Online for the last five years, beta tested most of Paradox Interactive wares, and I am probably the only guy on these forums to play Dominions 3.

I have grown up to like big, deep concepts and big deep computer games to pass my time and I have grown up supporting my football team like a religion. I play FM09 and I love it, just love it. The fundamental point is that as far as I am concerned this is the greatest game I can play and that is because it is the greatest thinking game ever developed and it is Football.