Bug or coincidence

everytime i qualify for the champions league first round knockout stage i always draw Lyon, the only time i didn't is when they didn't qualify for the champions league.

it's now four out of five seasons straight, but don't forget once they didn't qualify.

coincidence? :confused:

Very strange then.

Could just be a different form of the 'local teams drawing each other' bug. However, it could just be coincidence because the Champions League First Knockout round is different to other competitions like the FA and League Cups in that finishing first in the group allows you the advantage of playing a team that's finished second in theirs. The domestic cups (in England at least) are just drawn straight out of a hat with no advantage given to anyone.

I'm now going with coincidence and changing the standpoint I took in my previous post, lol.

Nothing to do with fm09, but i thought i'd share this with you.:)

on fm07 i was a long term liverpool manager, till 2012 or 13 possibly, and every time i would beat man utd away. you may be thinking what a good manager i am but the fact is that i would score a last minute free kick or screamer/ they would hit post from 6 yards out at the death. just seemed like a strange coincedence for that many concecutive seasons. brilliant though, coz i hate man u:D

I actually mentioned this exact same thing in the beta forum. I was Spurs and drew Lyon something like 5 or 6 times, it appears it's just coincidence as I never drew them in the next 8 seasons in league or knock out round.

I'm convinced there is a problem with the draw :rolleyes:, I've been drawn in the same group as the holders in my three appearances in the CL.