Why is FM 09 so damn hard!

Don't get me wrong, I love Football Manager and expect some difficulty (and realism - no good expecting West Ham to win the title in the first season), but FM 09 seems incredibly hard to me (and I've been playing this since Championship Manager didn't even have the real player names!!).

I have just started as Liverpool, had a nice pre season, won in the first leg of the Champions League 3rd Qualifying Round (away to Levski Sofia) and felt ready for the new season.

Lost 0-2 at home to Newcastle and then 2-1 away to Wigan (with an 87th minute goal making the score respectable).

Not only losing those games, but being dominated by the opposition too (which has happened even when I was Manchester United against much weaker opposition).

What is going on? (I'm not normally this bad!!!!)

Oh, and what level of intensity should the training be on when the season has started?

same, i'm not very good at the game either and i often blame the game for being too hard, but at the end of the day i think i'm just rubbish! But obviously asking here for help is a good idea, everyones really friendly, i've already PM'd a few users for some help, and there all willing to give me some tips, have a go :)

I usually go the route, find a formation (for me DR DC DC DL: AMR MC MC AML; ST ST), use appropriate tactics, and then go out and find the players that will fit.

In about 3-4 seasons I can usually get a Uefa cup team (e.g. my current team Fiorentina) to win the league and regular quarter finalists in Champions League.

Make sure your players are all being trained to their positions, if you leave them in general they will never develop.

Apart from that I have no secrets.

All the emphasis is on the tactical side of fm this year, sorry but it is true you need to download a tactic, but even that doesnt gaurentee you much